STEAM Education stimulates innovation, creativity, critical thinking, and problem-solving skills

British Curriculum

Also referred to as the National Curriculum for England, this system focusses on creativity and creating measurable, achievable goals for students.

It provides a carefully structured system of assessments at every educational stage.

This ensures every student, parent and child is aware of individual progress and goals, helping all children reach their potential.

Critical thinking, flexibility and a liberal approach are all key parts of this respected curriculum.

British Education System

Ages 3 – 5 | Foundation Stage | Foundation 1 and 2

Learning Through Play

Young children learn through exploration. Everything they do, from kicking a ball, building with blocks and painting, to singing in a group, and developing reading and writing skills is done in English and it is designed to help them understand their environment. This stage is essential and ensures children develop socially, mentally and physically.

Ages 5 – 7 | Key Stage 1 | Years 1 and 2

Exploration and Learning the Basics

A more structured approach to the day helps children continue their development with learning how to read, write and count in English. We still encourage children to explore and play, and discover the world around them and relate their findings in words and numbers.

Ages 7 – 11 | Key Stage 2 | School years 3 – 6

Communication and Application of Skill

Children are naturally curious, and we encourage them to learn about things that interest them while consolidating their numeracy and literacy skills. At this stage, we teach children how to apply these basic skills to other subject areas – such as Science, Art and History.

Our assessment team works with the students from Year 6 (Ages 10) to ensure a smooth transition from Junior School to Senior School. We predominantly do formative, on the spot, assessments which have a high impact on student learning. 

Ages 11 – 16 | Key Stage 3 & 4 | School years 7 – 11

Critical Thinking & Debate

As children get older we teach them to think more critically – it is at this stage that students develop a deeper knowledge and understanding across the arts, humanities, languages and sciences. They learn how to investigate, test and think about things rationally. At age 16 (Year 11), students take GCSE (General Certificate of Education) exams in 8-10 different subjects.

Ages 16 – 18 | Key Stage 5 | Sixth Form – School years 12 and 13

Choices & Ambitions

The final two years at school mark the beginning of adulthood. Students make choices and work hard during these years that prepare them for university and the start of their future career path. At the end of Year 11, and once students have finished their GCSEs they choose from four further study programmes:

  • A Levels
  • IB Diploma Programme
  • IB Career-Related Programme
  • BTEC Qualifications

Why a British Education?

The British curriculum sets out specific learning objectives for every year group, with a well structured and coherent progression to learning from early childhood all the way to university entrance.

The British Curriculum leads to GCSE (at age 16) and A Level examinations (at age 18). These are qualifications that are recognised by universities and employers around the world.